Selection of the movie representing France for the Oscars, Mustang directed by Deniz Gamze Ergüven

Paris, September 22, 2015


The committee in charge of selecting of the movie that will represent France for the Oscar of the Best Film in a Foreign Language at the 88th Academy Awards (February 28, 2016) met this morning at the Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée (CNC). It was chaired by Ms Frédérique Bredin, the CNC’s CEO. The committee selected Mustang, the movie directed by Deniz Gamze Ergüven, a French-Turkish director, as the film representing France.
It is the first feature film by this director who graduated at La Fémis in 2006. She co-wrote the script with Alice Winocour. That majority French film has a budget of 1.3 million euros. It was produced by Charles Gillibert (CG Cinéma) in co-production with Bam Films (Turkey), Vistamar Filmproduktion (Germany) and Uhland Film (Germany).
The movie was supported by Aide aux cinémas du monde (a scheme managed by the CNC and Institut français) with a 150,000 euro grant. It was also supported by the French-German “Mini-Treaty” with a 210,000 euro grant.
It was premiered in Cannes this year. It was then selected by many festivals, among which Odessa, Karlovy Vary, Sarajevo, Chicago, Toronto and Busan.
Mustang was released in France in June 2015 and has made more than 450,000 admissions.
The Cohen Media Group acquired the movie for the United States. It is one of the most important distributors in the United States. Mustang will be released in the USA on 20 November 2015.
The committee met on two occasions, on 16 and 22 September. After its first meeting, the committee auditioned the producers and sales agents of the preselected movies.
As a reminder, the 7 members of the committee are: Nathalie Baye, actress;Thierry Frémaux, the Cannes Film Festival General Delegate; Michel Hazanavicius, director; Mélanie Laurent, actress and director; Jean-Paul Salomé, Unifrance films Chairman; Alain Terzian, the César Academy Chairman; Serge Toubiana, Advance on receipts Chairman.

visuel : © CG Cinéma – AD Vitam