Launch of a fund to support Ukrainian films

Launch of a fund to support Ukrainian films

21 February 2023
Launch of a fund to support Ukrainian films
Ms Rima Abdul Malak, Minister of Culture, accompanied by the Luxembourg Minister of Culture, Ms Sam Tanson, the German Minister of Culture, Ms Claudia Roth, and representatives of EFAD (European Film Agency Directors association) Thomas Koehler/ photothek

During the 73rd Berlinale, the French Minister of Culture, Rima Abdul Malak, the Minister of Culture in Luxembourg, Sam Tanson, and the German Minister of Culture, Claudia Roth, announced the launch of the European solidarity fund for Ukrainian films.

16 organisations from 13 European countries and the EFAD (European Film Agency Directors) Association are creating a European solidarity fund for Ukrainian films. This multilateral fund is aimed at supporting Ukrainian film-makers whose projects have been interrupted since the outbreak of Russian aggression on Ukrainian soil, or for whom it is difficult to launch new ones within this context. Through joint productions, this fund also aims to foster creative and technical exchanges between professionals from contributing countries and their Ukrainian counterparts.

Opening of the call for projects

This programme, which is endowed with €1 million for 2023, aims to finance cinematographic works in the development or finalisation phase.

The aid will be awarded via a selection committee composed of five independent experts who will meet twice over the course of the year.

The steering committee for this fund, which is managed by the Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée (National Centre for Film and the Animated Image, CNC), is composed of representatives of each of the contributors.

This announcement of the fund’s launch marks the opening of the first call for projects. Applications may be submitted to the CNC until 17 March. The results of this initial session will be announced next May at the Cannes Film Festival.

The European solidarity fund for Ukrainian films is being implemented by means of the collaboration and financial contributions provided by 15 film centres or Ministries of Culture in 13 countries, and the Association of EFADs:

France (Ministry of Culture and CNC, coordinator), Dutch-speaking Belgium (VAF), French-speaking Belgium (CCA), Croatia (HAVC), Cyprus (Ministry of Culture), Estonia (Ministry of Culture), Germany (BKM), Greece (GFC), Ireland (Screen Ireland), Italy (MIC), Lithuania (Lithuanian Film Centre), Luxembourg (Film Fund Luxembourg), Holland (Netherlands Film Fund), Portugal (ICA) and the EFAD Association.

We can be proud of this European solidarity fund for Ukrainian film-makers. Whilst in addition to the violence of the fighting there is a war of information and images, it is vital that we support those who are fighting for freedom and democratic values at the very gates of Europe. Ukraine’s artists need us! We are 13 contributing countries to date; I hope that tomorrow our ranks will swell!
Minister Rima Abdul-Malak

For further details